Six cities co-operation


Picture: Antti Kokkola

The cities of Helsinki, Espoo, Vantaa, Tampere, Turku and Oulu are opening up their processes to aid companies to innovate, develop and test new products.

To boost Finland’s competitiveness, the six cities offer test-beds for companies, academia and other actors to run their research, product development and innovation in real-life settings.

The innovation platforms are physical or virtual pilot environments that enable the development of new products, services and markets. They allow the entire city community to work together to create new services, solutions and businesses.

As part of the Six City Strategy, the collaboration between cities brings these innovation platforms into nation-wide network of Citybusiness. One of these innovation platforms is Smart Kalasatama.

Smart Kalasatama aims to become an internationally known smart city innovation district.

In 2015–2017, the Smart Kalasatama project is run as part of the Six City Strategy. It is funded by the European Regional Fund, the City of Helsinki and the Ministry of Employment and the Economy.  The budget is approximately 900 000 euros. In 2013–2014, the Smart Kalasatama project was part of TEKES’s Witty City programme.

The six largest cities in Finland (Helsinki, Espoo, Vantaa, Tampere, Oulu and Turku) have joined forces to tackle their common urban challenges. The Six City Strategy 
(6Aika) is implemented with cooperative projects which enable the cities to experiment in a larger context than just one city. They engage the 
whole urban community to create smarter and more viable cities.

Comments are closed.